What are Amber Smart-Wines?

In Georgia, the cradle of European winemaking, amber describes white wines which are fermented and produced in the traditional manner in so-called Qvevris (amphorae) with the must. This traditional wine style inspired a modern wine movement which spread throughout all winegrowing countries. This movement is characterised by nothing less than a complete rethink on the part of winegrowers who have dared to approach the preparation of wines free of any dogmas and in a radically different manner.


A new movement

It is so diverse, young and dynamic that it defies any generally valid definition. It covers various wine styles, which are described among other things using the terms orange, raw or natural - albeit these terms are also not definitively or clearly defined. This development process continues apace and through learning from one another and through people’s own experiences leads to ever newer approaches. The majority of those winemakers who concern themselves with these traditional vinification techniques are also advocates of bio-organic or bio-dynamic viticulture. It is only logical that grapes that are produced in this manner are further processed in an equally gentle manner.
The product we know as ‘wine’ is just an intermediary product during its transformation from sugar to vinegar via alcohol. The alcoholic fermentation conserves aromas in a temporarily stable state.

The attempt to retain this state as authentically as possible is something the majority of wine-growers attempt to achieve. Those who have joined this movement, whether consciously or not, do it without the technical cellar aids that have become very popular; hence these types of grape juices or wines are frequently

  • processed without sulphur;
  • spontaneously fermented, in the case of white wines frequently with the must;
  • bottled unfiltered or without being clarified.

One of the masterminds of this movement, Prof. Rainer Zierock, went as far as bringing the young wine in the wooden crate back into the vineyard for one or several years so that it would then, whilst exposed to wind and weather, ripen towards its full maturity.

Amber encompasses all those wine products offered by Smart-Wines that function in accordance with bio-organic or bio-dynamic principles.


We wish to really emphasise the fact that Amber does not perform any evaluation of the wines based on their quality but merely should facilitate a clear distinction between our conventional partners and those partners who produce bio-organic or bio-dynamic wines (including those who are starting to adapt towards these methods).


What do our wineries have in common?

The wineries of our portfolio running under the Amber name, work according to clearly defined bio-dynamic and bio-organic methods and have had themselves certified as such or are in the process of becoming certified. They belong to the traditional organic organisations of their country and the independent organic associations, such as Fred Loimer who belongs to the “respect-BIODYN” group.


Other producers rank among the bio-dynamic pioneers of their region such as Elisabetta Foradori in Trentino or Tenuta di Valgiano in Tuscany, who cooperative to a key extend in the production of cellar guidelines of their association (Demeter Italia). Or Corte Sant’Alda, the first Demeter-certified winery in the Valpolicella region.


The one thing all these winemakers have in common is the fact that their wines rank among the recognised best wines of their respective region, and this was before they even had any organic certification. In spite of these merits they have proceeded and are proceeding in their work, in a cosmopolitan and curious manner, and hone the quality of their wines.


We can also adopt a different approach

A vineyard, however much people like to bucolically transfigure it - is a monoculture. Breaking it up, creating a healthy “living habitat“ for diverse flora and fauna and simultaneously improving working conditions for themselves in their environment are the goals pursued by the Amber winemakers.


The vines become more tolerant of environmental influences due to the conversion to organic cultivation:

  • the weather that has become increasingly extreme in the past few years: the vines are clearly much better able to cope with drought stress and excessive rainfall;
  • Biodiversity helps to combat pests as it ensures in a vineyard that is full of life that pests are kept in check by beneficial insects;
  • the healthy “immune system" of a strong plant is less susceptible to fungal diseases.

A vineyard is just a temporary item on loan which should be conserved for future generations. The winemakers therefore feel obliged to go sparingly on resources and to work more sensitively and with more care in the vineyard.

Ultimately these winemakers were able to recognise that their wine became more balanced and harmonious following the conversion to bio-organic or bio-dynamic winemaking methods. ”

The path is the goal” as we learn in Homer's work Odyssey, and our Smart-Wines Amber also view this in much the same light.

Glossary

Natural Wines, Vins Vivants, Naked Wines:

The generic terms for all wines whether red or white (orange) which are produced with the lowest possible amount of cellar-related work. The terms are not uniformly defined; they will be termed as Natural Wines throughout the text.

The winemakers do not strive to make any corrections to the different factors in this process:

  • The acids (neither the addition or extraction of acid is desired). The ideal maturing time of the grapes is also selected according to the acid content and the type of grape.
  • The tannic structure, ideally only influenced by the maceration time, possibly through the fermentation in wooden casks. Here there are the most diverse technical tannins in powder form, and there is hardly any taste (“pineapple reed tannin") which cannot be applied; they generally ensure a more mature taste of the wines.
  •  No clarification – wines are clarified to precipitate proteins and/or polyphenols. Proteins cause the wine to be turbid; polyphenols can taste astringent and bitter.
  • The alcohol content should not be increased through being chaptalised or higher concentrations, nor reduced through vacuum evaporation or use of a spinning cone column.


Natural wine:

The term was coined by the VDN, Verband Deutscher Naturweinversteigerer (Association of German Natural Wine Auctioneers), solely for wines for which the alcohol content was not improved by the addition of sugar to the grape must or the young wine.  The natural wine auctioneers have been included in the VDP (Association of German Prädikat Wine Estates).


Ecological = bio-organic & bio-dynamic:

Original terms for different production methods for agricultural products – i.e. in our case: grapes.

The regulations of different federations, associations and schools applied for the soil management, fertilisation and conservation. Only in recent years have the different organisations also concerned themselves with the guidelines for the steps following the grape production, i.e. for the cellar. For instance Demeter Associazione Italia implemented such regulations in 2013.

Winemaking in accordance with these standards waives the use of herbicides (to combat weeds) and insecticides (to combat insects). Fungicides (used against mould) are selectively authorised and the quantities permitted are limited, whereby sulphur preparations are considered unproblematic. To date no alternative has yet been found for copper, the only preparation permissible to combat Peronospora in bio-organic and bio-dynamic winemaking. The quantities that are mixed in are very low compared to past quantities. First tests with an homeopathic copper dosage have progressed promisingly.

In both cases vegetation between the rows of vines is stipulated to protect against erosion and as a habitat for beneficial insects.

Chemical synthetic fertilisers are forbidden in both cases.

The bio-dynamic winemaking method according to Rudolf Steiner views the vineyard as an holistic organism. This should be strengthened, the surrounding environment should be improved in overall terms for flora, fauna and humans. In this case the faith in the effectiveness of the measures plays a decisive part, even the moon phase calendar of Maria Thun is considered.

The “respekt-BIODYN“ group stipulates guidelines which are based on biodynamics to a large extent (including the moon calendar) but have a more pragmatic orientation based less on faith and more on experiences gained in the past.


Orange Wines:

By the term “Orange“ we mean white wines which have attained a more intensive colour and tannin yield than is otherwise the case with white wines due to various factors during the processing of the grapes.

A longer maceration is performed or a longer maceration time of the must is observed for the vast majority of these wines.


Additional factors include:

  • oxidative processing of the grapes and/or the must;
  • no or late sulphurisation;
  • no clarification or precipitation of the must;


The fact that these wines are spontaneously fermented comes as a matter of course for the majority of these winemakers.

In the case of the containers which can be potentially used for the fermentation all the standard and common fermenting vessels.

  • Stainless steel, cement or GFK tanks;
  • Wooden casks of different sizes made of different woods;
  • Amphorae, Tinajas (Spanish Amphorae, Tinajas (Spanish for clay jugs) or Qvevries
  • An ever increasing number of unusual containers are also coming to the fore:
  •  “Barrels” that are chiselled from one stone;
  • Stone troughs, reminiscent of sarcophaguses;
  • Cement or concrete “eggs”
  • Pyramids of the most diverse designs


RAW – Rare Artisanal Wines:

Originally the name of the largest trade fair for Natural Wines. Nowadays people like to use RAW as a synonym for these very wines.


Sulphur:

An element that naturally occurs in wine, however it is produced, i.e. a sulphur-free wine is a paradox. Sulphur occurs in a very large number of foods. People who eat 100 grams of fish, meat, varieties of cabbage vegetables, peanuts or beans, lentils, and peas will generally consume a much higher amount of sulphur than is present in a bottle of wine.


Why is sulphur present during the preparation of wine?

Sulphur that is added (in general as SO2) fulfils several functions in the vinification process:

  • Oxidation protection through its reductive effect;
  • Antimicrobial; protection against the activity of various microorganisms;
  • Enzyme repressive & colour preserving;
  • Neutralises unwanted fermentation aromas.

 
The second point in particular is called into question by fans of natural wines, as the neutralising of these aromas (especially acetaldehyde) can simultaneously also reduce the complexity of the wine. In slight concentrations acetaldehyde can contribute towards a more complex aroma.
Some wines such as those produced by Chateau Musar or Vega Sicilia, have a considerable maturing potential of 30, 40 or even more years, owing the longevity of their fruit aromas exactly these fragrances.


However, some winemakers go to such lengths in refusing to apply technology that they can no longer guarantee the biological stability of the wines produced by them under normal transportation and storage conditions: A certain wine is, for instance, only sold to those customers who can guarantee an uninterrupted cooling chain of max. 15°C . Such a wine is also ultimately nothing more than an artificial product that is artificially “kept alive” by a technique that is more or less completely excluded from the manufacturing process.

© Copyright Smart-Wines GmbH
The texts may only be used once Smart-Wines GmbH has provided its express consent for this.

Was ist Amber Smart-Wines?


Amber – englisch für Bernstein – bezeichnet in Georgien, der Wiege des europäischen Weinbaus, Weißweine, die auf traditionelle Art in sogenannten Qvevris (Amphoren) mit der Maische vergoren und ausgebaut werden. Dieser traditionelle Weinstil inspirierte eine moderne Weinbewegung, die sich in allen Weinbauländern ausbreitet. Diese Bewegung zeichnet sich durch nichts weniger als ein vollkommenes Umdenken der Winzer aus, die sich dogmenbefreit und radikal anders an die Weinbereitung heranwagen.

Eine neue Bewegung

Sie ist so vielfältig, jung und dynamisch, dass sie sich einer allgemeingültigen Definition verweigert. Sie umfasst diverse Weinstile, die u. a. als Orange, Raw oder Natural bezeichnet werden – wobei auch diese Begriffe nicht endgültig bzw. eindeutig definiert sind. Dieser Entwicklungsprozess schreitet kontinuierlich voran und das Lernen voneinander und durch die eigenen Erfahrungen führt zu immer neuen Ansätzen. Die meisten jener Winzer, die sich mit diesen althergebrachten Vinifizierungstechniken befassen, sind ebenfalls Verfechter des organisch-biologischen bzw. des biologisch-dynamischen Weinbaus.


Es ist nur konsequent, dass derart erzeugtes Lesegut ebenso schonend weiterverarbeitet wird.

Das, was wir als ‚Wein‘ kennen, ist nur ein Zwischenprodukt auf dem Weg von Zucker über Alkohol zu Essig. Die alkoholische Gärung konserviert Aromen in einem zeitlich begrenzt haltbaren Zustand.

Diesen Zustand möglichst unverfälscht zu erhalten, danach streben die meisten dieser Winzer. Diejenigen, die sich dieser Bewegung – ob bewusst, oder nicht – angeschlossen haben, verzichten weitestgehend auf liebgewonnene kellertechnische Hilfsmittel; so werden solche Moste bzw. Weine häufig

  • ungeschwefelt verarbeitet; 
  • spontan - auch bei den Weißweinen oftmals mit der Maische - vergoren;
  • unfiltriert bzw. ungeschönt abgefüllt.

 
Einer der Vordenker dieser Bewegung, Prof. Rainer Zierock, ging so weit, dass er den jungen Wein im Holzfass für ein oder mehrere Jahre zurück in den Weinberg brachte, damit er dort, Wind und Wetter ausgesetzt, seiner Vollendung entgegenreifte.
 
Amber umfasst all jene von Smart-Wines vertretenen Weingüter, die nach organisch-biologischen/biologisch-dynamischen Grundsätzen arbeiten.
 
Es ist uns wichtig zu betonen, dass Amber keine Bewertung der Weine nach Qualität vornimmt, sondern lediglich eine klare Unterscheidung zwischen unseren konventionell und unseren organisch-biologisch/biologisch-dynamisch wirtschaftenden Partnern (auch denjenigen, die sich in der Umstellung befinden) ermöglichen soll.

Was haben unsere Weingüter gemeinsam?

Die unter Amber geführten Weingüter unseres Portfolios arbeiten nach den klar definierten biologisch-dynamischen oder organisch-biologischen Methoden und haben sich auch als solche zertifizieren lassen bzw. befinden sich in der Umstellung. Sie gehören zu den traditionellen Bio-Organisationen ihres Landes oder zu unabhängigen Bio-Verbänden, wie etwa Fred Loimer und Gernot Heinrich zur „respekt-BIODYN“-Gruppe.
 
Andere Produzenten zählen zu den biologisch-dynamischen Pionieren ihrer Region, wie etwa Elisabetta Foradori im Trentino oder Tenuta di Valgiano in der Toskana, die maßgeblich an der Erstellung der Kellereirichtlinien ihres Verbandes (Demeter Italia) mitgearbeitet haben. Oder Corte Sant’Alda, das erste demeter-zertifizierte Weingut in der Valpolicella.
 
Allen diesen Winzern ist gemeinsam, dass ihre Weine zu den anerkannt besten ihrer jeweiligen Region gezählt werden, dies bereits zu einem Zeitpunkt, als sie noch keine Bio-Zertifizierung hatten. Trotz dieser Meriten gingen und gehen sie weiter, weltoffen und neugierig, und feilen an der Qualität ihrer Weine.

Wir können auch anders

Ein Weinberg – so bukolisch verklärt er gerne betrachtet wird – ist eine Monokultur. Diese aufzubrechen, einen gesunden „Lebens-Raum“ für eine vielfältige Pflanzen- und Tierwelt zu schaffen und gleichzeitig die Arbeitsbedingungen für sich selbst in seiner Umwelt zu verbessern: Diese Ziele verfolgen die Amber Winzer.
 
Durch die Umstellung auf biologische Bewirtschaftung werden die Rebstöcke toleranter gegen Umwelteinflüsse:

  • das Wetter, das in den letzten Jahren immer extremer geworden ist: Die Reben kommen eindeutig besser mit Trockenstress und zu hohen Niederschlagsmengen zurecht;
  • gegen Schädlinge hilft die Biodiversität, die in einem lebendigen Weinberg dafür sorgt, dass Schädlinge durch Nützlinge in Schach gehalten werden;
  • das gesunde „Immunsystem“ einer starken Pflanze ist weniger anfällig für Pilzkrankheiten.

 
Ein Weinberg ist nur eine zeitbegrenzte Leihgabe, der für die kommenden Generationen erhalten werden soll. Die Winzer sehen sich daher in der Pflicht, Ressourcen zu schonen und sensibler, mit viel Aufmerksamkeit im Weingarten zu arbeiten.

Letztlich konnten diese Winzer erkennen, dass ihre Weine nach der Umstellung auf die organisch-biologische/biologisch-dynamische Wirtschaftsweise ein Mehr an Balance und Harmonie erlangten.

Der Weg ist das Ziel, lernen wir aus Homers Odyssee, und so sehen es auch unsere Smart-Wines Amber Winzer.

Glossar

Natural Wines, Vins Vivants, Naked Wines:

Die Überbegriffe für alle Weine, ob Rot oder Weiß (Orange), die mit möglichst geringem kellertechnischen Aufwand hergestellt werden. Die Begriffe sind nicht eindeutig definiert; im Text werden sie fortan als Natural Wines bezeichnet.

Die Winzer streben dabei keinerlei Korrekturen bei den verschiedenen Faktoren an:

  • Die Säuren (weder Hinzufügen noch Entsäuern erwünscht). Der ideale Reifezeitpunkt der Trauben wird auch nach dem Säuregehalt und ihrer Art gewählt.
  • Die Tanninstruktur, idealerweise nur beeinflusst durch Maischestandzeit, ev. durch Holzfassausbau. Heute gibt es verschiedenste technische Tannine in Pulverform, kaum eine geschmackliche Ausprägung („Ananasschilf-Tannin“), die nicht darstellbar ist; sie sorgen i. d. R. für ein gewichtigeres Mundgefühl der Weine.
  • Keine Schönung – Weine werden geschönt, um Proteine und/oder Polyphenole auszufällen. Proteine verursachen eine Trübung des Weines; Polyphenole können adstringierend und bitter schmecken.
  • Der Alkoholgehalt sollte weder durch Chaptalisieren oder Konzentrieren nach oben, noch durch Vakuumverdampfung bzw. Schleuderkegelkolonne nach unten verändert werden.

 

Naturwein:

Die Bezeichnung wurde durch den VDN, Verband Deutscher Naturweinversteigerer, geprägt, ausschließlich für Weine, deren Alkoholgehalt nicht durch Zuckerung des Mostes bzw. des Jungweines verbessert wurde. Die Naturweinversteigerer sind im VDP aufgegangen.
 

Ökologisch = Organisch-Biologisch & Biologisch-Dynamisch:

Ursprünglich Bezeichnungen für unterschiedliche Produktionsmethoden für landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse – d. h. in unserem Fall: Trauben.

Die Bestimmungen verschiedener Verbände, Vereinigungen und Schulen galten für die Bodenpflege, die Düngung sowie den Naturschutz. Erst seit wenigen Jahren beschäftigen sich die verschiedenen Organisationen auch mit Richtlinien für die Schritte nach der Traubenproduktion, d. h. für den Keller. So hat Demeter Italien solche Richtlinien 2013 implementiert.

Der Weinbau nach diesen Standards verzichtet auf Herbizide (gegen „Unkraut“) und Insektizide (gegen Insekten). Fungizide (gegen Schimmelpilze) sind selektiv zugelassen und mengenbeschränkt, wobei Schwefelpräparate als unproblematisch betrachtet werden. Für Kupfer, das einzige im organisch-biologischen/biologisch-dynamischen Weinbau zulässige Präparat gegen Peronospora, gibt es bis heute noch keine Alternative. Die Mengen, die ausgebracht werden, sind im Verhältnis zu früheren Tagen sehr gering. Erste Versuche mit einer homöopathischen Kupfer-Dosierung laufen vielversprechend.

In beiden Fällen sind Begrünungen zwischen den Rebzeilen vorgeschrieben, zum Schutz vor Erosion sowie als Lebensraum für Nützlinge.

Chemisch-synthetische Dünger sind in beiden Fällen verboten.

Die biologisch-dynamische Wirtschaftsweise nach Rudolf Steiner betrachtet den Weinberg als ganzheitlichen Organismus. Dieser soll gestärkt, das Umfeld für Pflanze, Tier und Mensch insgesamt verbessert werden. Dabei spielt der Glaube an die Wirksamkeit der Maßnahmen eine entscheidende Rolle, auch der Mondphasenkalender nach Maria Thun findet Beachtung.

Die „respekt-BIODYN“-Gruppe gibt Richtlinien vor, die in weiten Teilen der Biodynamie angelehnt (inkl. Mondphasenkalender), jedoch etwas pragmatischer orientiert sind und weniger auf Glauben, mehr auf Erfahrungswerten aufbauen.
 

Orange Wines:

Unter „Orange“ verstehen wir Weißweine, die durch verschiedene Faktoren während der Verarbeitung der Trauben eine intensivere Farb- und Tanninausbeute, als sonst bei Weißweinen üblich, erlangt haben.

Bei den allermeisten dieser Weine wird eine längere Mazeration durchgeführt bzw. eine längere Maischestandzeit des Mostes eingehalten.
Weitere Faktoren sind:

  • oxidative Verarbeitung der Trauben und/oder des Mostes;
  • keine oder späte Schwefelung;
  • keine Schönung bzw. Absetzung des Mostes;


Dass diese Weine spontan vergoren werden, ist für die meisten dieser Winzer selbstverständlich.

Bei den Behältnissen, die für die Gärung in Frage kommen, werden alle üblichen und gängigen Gärgefäße verwendet

  • Edelstahl-, Zement- oder GFK-Tanks;
  • unterschiedlich große Holzfässer aus verschiedenen Hölzern;
  • Amphoren, Tinajas (span.: Amphoren, Tonkrüge) oder Qvevris
  • Dazu kommen immer mehr ungewöhnliche Behältnisse:
  •  „Fässer“, die aus einem Stein gemeißelt wurden;
  • Steintröge, Sarkophagen gleichend;
  • Zement- bzw. Beton-„Eier“;
  • Pyramiden verschiedenster Bauart

 

RAW – Rare Artisanal Wines:

Ursprünglich der Name der größten Messe für Natural Wines.
Heute wird RAW gerne als Synonym für ebendiese Weine verwendet.
 

Schwefel:

Ein Element, das im Wein, egal wie er hergestellt wird, natürlich vorkommt. D. h. ein schwefelfreier Wein ist ein Paradoxon. Schwefel kommt in sehr vielen Lebensmitteln vor. Wer 100 Gramm Fisch, Fleisch, Kohlgemüse, Erdnüsse oder Hülsenfrüchte isst, wird in der Regel eine deutlich höhere Menge an Schwefel zu sich nehmen, als in einer Flasche Wein vorhanden ist.

Warum Schwefel bei der Weinbereitung?

Zugesetzter Schwefel (in der Regel als SO2) hat mehrere Funktionen in der Kellerwirtschaft:

  • Oxidationsschutz; durch seine reduzierende Wirkung;
  • antimikrobiell; Schutz vor der Aktivität diverser Mikroorganismen;
  • enzymhemmend & farberhaltend;
  • bindet unerwünschte Gäraromen ab.

 
Gerade der zuletzt genannte Punkt wird heutzutage von den Anhängern der Natural Wines in Frage gestellt, da das Abbinden dieser Aromen (vornehmlich Acetaldehyd) gleichzeitig den Wein auch in seiner Komplexität beschneiden kann. In geringer Konzentration kann Acetaldehyd zu einer vielschichtigeren Aromatik beitragen.
Einige Weine, die, wie z. B. jene  von Chateau Musar oder Vega Sicilia, ein erhebliches Reifungspotential von 30, 40 oder mehr Jahren haben, verdanken die Langlebigkeit ihrer Fruchtaromen u. a. diesen Noten.
 
Einige Winzer gehen in ihrer Technikverweigerung allerdings so weit, dass sie die biologische Stabilität der von ihnen erzeugten Weine unter normalen Transport- und Lagerbedingungen nicht mehr garantieren können: Ein bestimmter Wein z. B. wird nur an diejenigen Kunden verkauft, die eine ununterbrochene Kühlkette von max. 15°C garantieren können. Auch ein solcher Wein ist letztendlich nichts als ein Kunstprodukt, das nur durch eine vom Herstellungsprozess weitestgehend herausgenommene Technik künstlich „am Leben“ erhalten wird.


© Copyright Smart-Wines GmbH
Verwendung der Texte nur nach ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Firma Smart-Wines GmbH.